Kris Lewis…

lewis01

lewis02

lewis03

lewis04

lewis05

lewis06

lewis07

 

 

Oh my!  Excuse me while I pick my jaw up off the floor.

I am totally smitten with these paintings by LA-based artist Kris Lewis.  I love how the women are slightly odd, and you can’t really pinpoint their emotions, but they still seem confident and strong.

Lewis describes his process:
“As I begin a painting the subject physically, emotionally and spiritually reveals itself to me.  Each brush stroke speaks to the subsequent stroke, carrying out a dialog, linking my subject and me as if we were meeting for the first time.  I find this uncertainty exciting and embrace the indecisive nature of my work.”

Lewis mixes traditional painting technique with contemporary content.  He lists his influences as Alfonse Bougereau, Andrew Wyeth, Hans Holbein, Albrecht Durer, Hieronymus Bosch, Gustav Klimt, and Jules-Bastien LePage.  He has exhibited all over the world, and has been featured in many magazines and books.

More incredible paintings on Lewis’ website, where you can also buy limited edition prints of his work.

 

lewis08

 

Images found here.

Leave a Reply

